Maritime Museums | Image Gallery
Absecon Lighthouse: (NJ) Over its 140-year history, the Absecon Lighthouse has been a proud symbol of Atlantic City, NJ. While guiding vessels away from the treacherous Absecon Shoals, the lighthouse served as host to thousands of visitors through the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth centuries, making it the oldest man-made tourist attraction on the Jersey shore.
Barnegat Bay and Baymen's Museum: (NJ) The Barnegat Bay Decoy and Baymen's Museum at Tuckerton is dedicated to preserving, presenting and interpreting the rich maritime history, heritage, and environment of the Jersey Shore and the unique contributions of its Baymen. Step back in time to a place where men and women lived, worked and played -- on and by the water. Their lives were dependent on the sea. Many were destroyed by it. And many thrived on it. See how they lived. Meet the whalers, and the shrimpers -- the oystermen and the clammers -- the lighthouse keepers , the life savers and the ship captains.
Battleship New Jersey Historical Museum Society: (NJ) U.S.S. New Jersey (BB-62) is the subject of an ongoing effort to establish her as a permanent museum at Liberty State Park on the New Jersey side of the Hudson River near the Statue of Liberty. Visit this web site and support the effort.
Canal Society of New Jersey: (NJ) The Canal Society of New Jersey Museum at Waterloo Village, (Morristown) where about 1790, John Smith settled in the area known at that time as Old Andover and began investing in land, agriculture, and the iron industry. A self-made man, Smith was also a patriot and active in the new American army, rising up in rank during the War of 1812, to become a General. His youngest son, Peter Smith, was equally ambitious. A State Senator and banker, he was the driving force of the community. When this sleepy hamlet became an inland port on the Morris Canal in 1831, Smith opened a general store to sell dry goods to passing boatmen. It was about this time that the village was renamed Waterloo.
Cape May County Historical & Genealogical Society (NJ) The Cape May County Historical & Genealogical Society at the Court House, housed in the vintage 1800's barn, displays also a hand-carved duck decoy collection and the original Fresnel lens from the 1859 Cape May Point Lighthouse. The barn also has a maritime and whaling exhibit and a natural history display. In addition, tools and gadgets for the home, farm and business are exhibited including examples of carriages include a stage coach, a peddler's wagon and a handsomely restored doctor's sulky. Genealogical Library
The Delaware Bay Museum: (NJ) Schooner as classroom: Discover your Watershead. That's the mission of TheDelaware Bay Museum where exibitions include artifacts and photographs depicting the rich maritime history of the Delaware Bay region located in Port Norris, New Jersey. Both the exhibit and schooner are sites on the New Jersey Coastal Heritage Trail.
Fort Hancock Museum: (NJ) Located at the north end of beautiful Sandy Hook, Fort Hancock served in coastal defense until 1974. Sandy Hook, a six-mile sand-bar peninsula reaching into lower New York Harbor, was a strategic site for both navigational and defense purposes. In 1764 the Sandy Hook Lighthouse, at Highlands, NJ, was constructed to curtail the growing number of shipwrecks. Today it is the nation's oldest lighthouse still in use.
Hereford Inlet Lighthouse: (NJ) This lighthouse is located just north of Cape May Lighthouse at North Wildwood, NJ. Hereford Inlet is a major passageway between the Atlantic Ocean, and the Intra-Coastal waterway which extends from Maine to Florida. The site of the lighthouse originally served as a life saving station.
John Dubois Maritime Museum: (NJ) The John Dubois Maritime Museum, located in Greenwich's historic district at the former Presbyterian Church Hall constructed in 1852, and presently serves as the John DuBois Maritime Museum, displaying a varied collection of maritime artifacts relating to South Jersey.
Museum of New Jersey Maritime History: (NJ) The Museum of New Jersey Maritime History displays marine artifacts and promotes the education of the public about New Jersey's maritime history.
N.J. Naval Museum/Submarine USS Ling: (NJ) The New Jersey Naval Museum/Submarine USS Ling was established by the Submarine Memorial Association and displays the submarine Ling at its dock in Hackensack, NJ, the submarine USS Ling.
Ocean City Historical Museum: (NJ) The Ocean City Historical Museum exhibits and displays information on the four-masted bark Sindia, which ran aground in 1901 just off Ocean City's Beaches.
Paterson Museum: (NJ) The Paterson Museum, where Paterson schoolteacher, John Philip Holland, was known as the Father of the Modern Submarine, displays the hulls of Holland's first Submersibles.
Sandy Hook Museum (NJ) Operated by the National Park Service, the museum in the old Fort Hancock guardhouse and lighthouse, the oldest operation in America, should be visited.
Tuckerton Seaport: (NJ) The Tuckerton Seaport, a project of the Barnegat Bay Decoy and Baymen's Museum, has now grown into a multi-faceted historical campus called "The Tuckerton Seaport." Ground was broken for the Museum building on January 30, 1993 where one can step back in time to a place where men and women lived, worked and played -- on and by the water. Their lives were dependent on the sea. Many were destroyed by it. And many thrived on it. See how they lived. Meet the whalers, and the shrimpers -- the oystermen and the clammers -- the lighthouse keepers , the life savers and the ship captains.
Twin Lights State Historic Site: (NJ) The Twin Lights State Historic Site, at what is now Highlands, NJ, is where the first twin towers were built in 1828, separated by a service structure of some 300 feet. In 1841 it became the first American lighthouse to use fresnel lenses, which increased brightness many times over. Though the lights were in fine order, the structure eventually fell into disrepair. A new one was completed in 1862. In 1883 the Twin Lights became the first to burn kerosene, replacing whale oil. Later it became the first electrically powered light, its nine-foot diameter lens producing 25 million candlepower. The reflection in the night sky could be seen from seventy miles at sea. The lighthouse was decommissioned in 1949. In 1960 it became a State Historic Site.